2019 Hazel Rowley Fellowship shortlist

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

The 2019 Hazel Rowley Fellowship shortlist has been announced.  The Fellowship, established in memory of Hazel Rowley (1951–2011) awards $15,000 to an Australian biographer.

Hazel Rowley wrote four critically-acclaimed biographies before her sudden death in 2011:

  • Christina Stead: A Biography (1993), see my review;
  • Richard Wright: The Life and Times (2001);
  • Tête-à-Tête: The Lives and Loves of Simone de Beauvoir and Jean-Paul Sartre (2005) and
  • Franklin and Eleanor: An Extraordinary Marriage (2010) see my review.

The 2019 nominees are

  • Maggie Tonkin (SA) for a biography of Australian choreographer Meryl Tankard
  • Brigitta Olubas (NSW) for a biography of writer Shirley Hazzard
  • Eleanor Hogan (NT) for her project on the friendship between Ernestine Hill and Daisy Bates
  • Stephenie Cahalan (TAS) writing about artist Jean Belette, ‘The Modern Woman of Australian Modernism’
  • Gabrielle Carey (NSW) for a biography of Elizabeth von Arnim
  • James Boyce (TAS) for a new biography of Governor Lachlan Macquarie
  • James…

View original post 212 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s