2018 Barbara Jefferis Award winner


ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

The Barbara Jefferis Award celebrates women in literature and is awarded biennially for “the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society.”

The Award is named for highly regarded author Barbara Jefferis, a founding member and executive director of the Australian Society of Authors (ASA), and it is made possible by the generosity of John Hinde’s bequest (Barbara’s husband).  (I have recently acquired two of Barbara Jefferis’s novels: Solo for Several Players (1961) and Three of a Kind (1982). I can’t decide which one to read first.)

It’s a generous prize: the winner receives a prize of $50,000 and the shortlisted authors share $5,000.

This year the shortlist consisted of:

The Trapeze Act by Libby Angel (Text Publishing)
Troppo by Madelaine Dickie (Fremantle Press)
Storyland by Catherine McKinnon (HarperCollins), see my…

View original post 30 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s